Mists of Pandaria – why the hate?

There has been a lot of discussion within the WoW community over the next expansion called “Mists of Pandaria.” The expansion takes World of WarCraft into the mysterious land of the Pandaren, so far only represented in lore by Chen Stormstout, a character in the Horde campaign of WarCraft III. A lot of the discussion has been negative, with the expansion overwhelmingly being called a rip-off of “Kung Fu Panda.” Even my wife has joined the hate, doubting whether or not she will get the expansion for this reason.

I really don’t understand this attitude, since Chen & the Pandaren were introduced in 2002, vs. “Kung Fu Panda” in 2008. If there is any relationship between the two other than coincidence, I would say the film’s character was inspired by the WarCraft III character, not the other way around. Either way, I am excited about the expansion. When World of WarCraft was first announced back in 2004, I told my wife I wanted to make a Pandaren Brewmaster since I thought the character of Chen was pretty cool. I was actually pretty disappointed when I found out that you wouldn’t have that option. Now, with the “Mists of Pandaria” expansion, we will.

Anyway, just my two cents worth on the topic. Below is a Blizzard image of Pandaren concept art, with an inset of Chen’s in-game portrait from WarCraft III.

 

Pandaren Comparison

Leave a Reply

