R.I.P. Hostess

I knew it wouldn’t be long before I personally felt the impact of Hostess going out of business. I’ve never cared much for Twinkies, but I absolutely loved their orange-flavored cupcakes & their Ding-Dong cupcakes. This morning I had a craving for cupcakes or donuts for a breakfast snack, but both CVS and my normal two convenience stores had no stock at all – the area where cup-cakes/donuts normally are was completely empty. I never realized that ALL such products they carried were Hostess brand, I had simply taken it for granted that there was some Mrs. Baird’s or something mixed in there. Not so, however – I had to go to a convenience store I rarely visit just to find some Mrs. Freshley’s cupcakes.

For those not familiar with it, Mrs. Freshley’s is kind of a generic Mrs. Baird’s knock-off we see a lot down here in the South. The taste & quality is nowhere near what you’d find with Hostess, and apparently Mrs. Baird’s just doesn’t have the coverage down here that Hostess had. Long story short – I’m really gonna miss those Hostess orange cupcakes…

Leave a Reply

