Shin Godzilla: What did I think?

Haven’t posted for a while, but thought I’d return with another brief movie review. Having been a long-time Godzilla fan, I broke down and watched last year’s “Shin Godzilla”, which is a new entry from long-time Godzilla studio Toho in Japan. They haven’t put anything out in over a decade, and the last two attempts to reboot their Godzilla franchise were pretty bad. Like many fans, I had just assumed that the time of rubber-suit monsters was past, and left it at that. Keep in mind that, as usual with my posts, this review WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS.

This latest movie is a fresh attempt at the franchise with more modern CGI effects, and personally I think it reflects the renewed fear of nuclear power that the country is feeling after the Fukushima thing a few years ago. That’s something the older films seemed to lose over time… a reason for Godzilla being a monster. That said, I have to say that “Shin Godzilla” also tries hard to beat the weirdness level of those lost days. Toho has given us all kinds of psychedelic aliens & monsters over the decades, but I’m not sure any of them beat the sheer… alien-ness… of this new iteration. Keep reading and you’ll get a sense of what I mean.

Continue reading

